Pakistan hockey team enters India via Attari-Wagah border | Hockey

Spread the love

The Pakistan hockey crew arrived in India on Tuesday through the Attari-Wagah border to take part within the Asian Champions Trophy beginning in Chennai from Thursday.

Pakistan hockey team enters India
Pakistan hockey crew enters India

The highly-anticipated match between arch-rivals India and Pakistan will happen on August 9.

The Pakistan crew is flying into Chennai later tonight after getting into Amritsar by highway.

In the meantime, the Harmanpreet Singh-led Indian crew too landed within the metropolis on Tuesday morning.

The Indian crew is scheduled to coach on the Mayor Radhakrishnan Hockey Stadium at Egmore, the venue for the event, on Wednesday earlier than its opening match towards China on Thursday.

Pakistan, too, will practice on the identical day.

The Asian Hockey Champions Trophy was first began as a girls’s groups competitors in 2010.

After the success of the ladies’s Asian Champions Trophy, the lads’s competitors was held in 2011 with six high groups within the continent.

Until 2013, the ACT was an annual affair. Nonetheless, from 2016 onwards, the event was staged each two years.

The 2020 version was postponed to 2021 because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

India and Pakistan have received the event thrice, sharing the trophy in 2018.

South Korea are the defending champions having crushed Japan within the remaining of the final version in 2021.

Pakistan hockey squad: Muhammad Umar Bhatta (capt), Akmal Hussain, Abdullah Ishtiaq Khan, Muhammad Abdullah, Muhammad Sufyan Khan, Ehtsham Aslam, Osama Bashir, Aqeel Ahmed, Arshad Liaquat, Muhammad Imad, Abdul Hanan Shahid, Zakaria Hayat, Rana Abdul Waheed Ashraf (vc), Roman, Muhammad Murtaza Yaqoob, Muhammad Shahzaib Khan, Afraz, Abdul Rahman, whereas the standby contains Ali Raza, Muhammad Baqir, Muhammad Nadeem Khan, Abdul Wahab, Waqar Ali, Muhammad Arsalan and Abdul Qayyum.

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top